National Curriculum Levels In Mathematics

Do you know what level your child is working at in mathematics? Are you aware of the expected level that they are predicted to achieve in their end of Key Stage tests? If you want to know which National Curriculum Level your child is working at then ask your child's teacher. This page should give you a clearer understanding of the level that your child is working at within the National Curriculum.

The Framework for teaching mathematics was introduced in the late 1990s. The
Primary Mathematics Framework document will give you further information. Standards in mathematics have risen significantly since the introduction of the Framework but challenges remain. Nearly a quarter of 11-year-olds are still not confidently attaining level 4 or above in mathematics by the time they leave primary school.

The Key Stages and Assessment

Age Stage Year Group Assessments
3 - 4 Foundation Pre-school
4 - 5 Foundation Year R
5 - 6 Key Stage 1 Year 1
6 - 7 Key Stage 1 Year 2 Teacher Assessment tasks and tests.
7 - 8 Key Stage 2 Year 3
8 - 9 Key Stage 2 Year 4
9 - 10 Key Stage 2 Year 5
10 - 11 Key Stage 2 Year 6 National tests in Maths and English.

Key Stage Levels

During the appropriate Key Stage, most children will work between these levels:

Level Key Stage 1 (5-7) Key Stage 2 (7-11)
Working Towards Significantly below expectations
Level 1 Below expectations
Level 2 Average for End of Key Stage 1 Significantly below expectations
Level 3 Beyond expectations Below expectations
Level 4 Exceptional Average for End of Key Stage 2
Level 5
Beyond expectations
Level 6

For relevant teaching materials, see numeracy resources.

National Curriculum Links:

National Curriculum (England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Curriculum for Excellence (Scotland)
National Curriculum (Australia)

Copyright © 2016 Best Primary Teaching Resources